Say Anything Release “Send You Off” from New Album, Oliver Appropriate

Photo Credit: Chris Phelps

Photo Credit: Chris Phelps

Any fan of Say Anything knows that singer Max Bemis doesn’t shy away from potentially polarizing, embarrassing, or uncomfortable topics. His highly descriptive lyrics have a way of making the listener squirm a bit, albeit not necessarily in a bad way. Listening to his songs is often like reading a diary you know you shouldn’t look at and feeling sheepish because his thoughts hit a little too close to home. His lyrics are things we may think, but don’t have the guts to say out loud— and he not only says them but screams them at us.

Once past the initial shock of Bemis’ lines, fans will find deeply personal anecdotes. Bemis has historically battled with anxiety, depression, and PTSD and makes no effort to hide these facts in his music. Part of the intrigue of his music is that he creates stories and characters within the songs that make listeners wonder whether he’s being autobiographical or writing fiction.

The newly released track titled “Send You Off” in Say Anything’s anticipated and possibly final studio album, Oliver Appropriate, explores yet another level of strife through the eyes of the title character, Oliver. The song is about exploration and confusion of sexuality. Bemis describes Oliver Appropriate as “the first truly inclusive Say Anything record.”

Not only does the album explore a new level of depth for Bemis, it is also the sequel to Say Anything’s second album …Is A Real Boy, released in 2005. Fourteen years later, we are finally getting what we’ve been waiting for. …Is A Real Boy was originally supposed to be a rock opera, but during writing and recording Bemis had a mental breakdown resulting in the completed album never quite fulfilling its rock opera goals. However, it was received immensely well and since then, Say Anything has been a staple in the hearts of emo punk lovers.

Oliver Appropriate will be the concept album that will give …Is A Real Boy the closure that it needs— and deserves. Bemis describes the record as “the story of what would happen to the ‘Real Boy’ many people thought I was.” Bemis continues, “His band did well but then fell off hard. He’d be my age, of course, but he’d still be living in Brooklyn, struggling with financial woes, single and strung out.”

Though Bemis is doing quite well, he conducts a deep exploration of personal, uncharted topics through a dark lens. His lyrics are heavily rooted in story-telling and almost guaranteed to have a harsh undertone committed to keeping things real. According to Bemis, “Say Anything will probably make music again, and I’m not claiming this is our actual last record, but it may be. Who knows. That’s up to me and my family.”

In addition to “Send You Off”, available tracks for the forthcoming album include “Dazed”, “Pink Snot”, and “It’s A Process”. Oliver Appropriate will to be released January 29th, 2019.

Say Anything.jpg

Oliver Appropriate Track Listing:

1. The Band Fuel

2. Daze

3. Pink Snot

4. Greased

5. Ew Jersey

6. Mouthbreather

7. When I’m Acid

8. Captive Audience

9. Your Father

10. Send You Off

11. Fired

12. It’s A Process

13. The Hardest

14. Sediment